PH to head group of 20 countries

The Philippines will head the inauguration of the Vulnerable Twenty or V20, a group of finance ministers from 20 countries that are vulnerable to the impact of climate change.

V20 groups Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bhutan, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Madagascar, Maldives, Nepal, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

The Finance Department said in a statement V20 would be established on Oct. 7 and 8 during the upcoming annual meetings of the World Bank Group and International Monetary Fund in Lima, Peru. The inauguration will be chaired by Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima.

The V20 was foreseen in the 2013-2015 Climate Vulnerable Forum Costa Rica Action Plan that initiated dedicated cooperation among Ministers of Finance.

The establishment of V20 seeks to enable the vulnerable countries to steer a high-level policy dialogue pertaining to action on climate change and the promotion of climate resilient and low emission development.  

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.