Water system ‘adjustments’ to begin 16th—Maynilad

Maynilad Water Services Inc. said yesterday that it would implement the system adjustments toward full implementation of rotating service interruptions in the West Zone beginning Sept. 16.

The adjustments will help manage the water level in Angat Dam during the El Niño season.

Maynilad said the system adjustments would result in shortened supply schedules in about 900 barangays or 56 percent of the West concession area.

Maynilad is plotting a specific supply interruption schedule per area to ensure that affected customers will have some water supply daily, even within a limited supply window.

The company, however, said that during the first week of implementation, these schedules will not yet be adopted as Maynilad strives to limit the service interruption during off-peak hours.

“At this initial phase of system adjustments, we shall implement the supply interruptions daily from 9 p.m. to 4 a.m. only. This off-peak schedule will be gradually extended until, at full implementation, we will adopt the different supply interruption schedules for each area,” said Maynilad Water Supply Operations engineer Ronaldo Padua.

Padua clarified that although recent rains at the Ipo watershed helped maintain water elevation at Ipo Dam and augmented the reduced allocation from Angat Dam, the supply at Ipo Dam is not enough to sustain the company’s water production for the long term.

“The Ipo Dam is only a diversion control dam and has a small capacity—5.9 million cubic meters versus Angat Dam’s 850 MCM. So it is barely enough to meet Metro Manila’s water requirement for two days,” Padua said.

In preparation for the full implementation of the rotating service interruptions, Maynilad is acquiring additional water tankers and refurbishing its stationary water tanks to serve those areas that are expected to have less than 12 hours of water supply.

Maynilad is an agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain areas), Quezon City (certain areas), Makati (certain areas), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.