Lavazza wins the Vanderbilt! 2015 Vanderbilt Knockout Teams Final

Lavazza (Giorgio Duboin, Zia Mahmooad, Norberto Bocchi, Agustin Madala) vs. Diamond (John Diamond, Brian Platnick, Eric Grecco, Geoff Hampson, Marc Jacobus, Eddie Wold).

At the start of segment 3 the Diamond Team was leading 65IMPs against Lavazza by 34IMPs.

Then Lavazza in board 9 bid the slam by Zia and Duboin. From then on as Lavazza took the lead in segment 4, Lavazza bid two other slams and to never relinquish the lead.

Board 9








West                                     East

Duboin                 Zia

♠A74                                      ♠KQ86

♥K9                                        ♥AJ1087

♦92                                         ♦KJ

♣K107542                            ♣AQ








West     North    East        South

Duboin                 Zia

                                PASS      2NT        PASS

4♥           PASS      4♠           PASS

5♥           PASS      6♣          PASS


Results of Alejandro Duplicate Game last March 17, 2015:

Harumi Ieda-Salma Nugent

Sylvia Alejandro-Ayesha Fuschs

Isabel Maloles-Joli Kansil             

Results at Manila Peninsula last March 18, 2015:

Joli Kansil-Paul Potassy

Susan Kwee-Salma Lall

Jopet Maliwat-Margaret Kwok


Comments to: [email protected]/[email protected]

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.